Vince Agcaoili, a faculty member of the Literature Department of the UA&P College of Arts and Sciences, was named one of the winners of the 71st Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature held last November 27 at the Philippine International Convention Center. His poetry collection entitled Carrying was awarded second prize in the Poetry category.

Mr. Agcaoili joins 30 new names—first-time awardees—in the awards’ prestigious list of the most prolific Filipino writers, poets, and playwrights. A total of 54 contestants received awards in 20 writing categories in four divisions: Kabataan, English, Filipino, and Regional Languages. Literary luminaries handpicked from their fields evaluated the 1,405 contest entries submitted.

Mr. Agcaoili holds an MA in Humanities, Major in Literature, from UA&P. As a poet, he was a fellow of the first iteration of Tara, Tula 2020; the UST National Writers’ Workshop 2021; the Spring 2021 fellowship of Albertus Magnus Institute (Sacramento, USA); and the IYAS National Writers’ Workshop 2022. His works have appeared in Tita Lacambra Ayala’s Road Map Series Heritage, UA&P’s The Bosun, Novice Magazine, Ilahas Literary Journal, Luna Journal: A Semi-Annual Journal of New Filipino Writing, Audience Askew, and UST’s Tomas and The Manila Magnolia.

Named after businessman and philanthropist Don Carlos Palanca Sr. and sponsored by the Carlos Palanca Foundation Inc., the Palanca Awards is the longest-running and most prestigious literary competition in the country. It upholds the tradition of extending incentives for writers to continuously cultivate Philippine literature. A Palanca medal or recognition is highly coveted in the Filipino writing community here and abroad.

Since 1951, the Palanca Awards has conferred medals and certificates to a total of 2,526 Filipino authors, 26 of which became Hall of Fame awardees for having five first prize-winning works. In championing literature, the Palanca Awards also serves as a treasury of our literary gems, currently holding a total of 2,617 winning works in its archives, spanning the years 1951 to 2023.

For a full list of this year’s winners, visit the Palanca Awards website.